Was the umpire Kumar Dharmasena correct or incorrect to rule an inside edge on a rejected England LBW appeal?
In an unusual turn of events during the ongoing Test match at The Oval, umpire Kumar Dharmasena signalled to the England team that his decision not to give an lbw decision to Sai Sudharsan was due to an inside edge.
The incident occurred during a ball bowled by Josh Tongue to Sai Sudharsan. The Indian batsman was struck low on his pad, causing him to lose balance and end up on all fours. However, the regulations allow the captain or batters to question the bowler's end umpire about an LBW decision, but not about any other aspect of a decision before deciding on a review.
Umpire Dharmasena's signal to England was not against the regulations, as per Article 32.2.3 of the ICC's Test match Playing Conditions. Umpires are not allowed to convey specific reasoning or signals (such as indicating an inside edge) to players immediately after an appeal and before the decision review system (DRS) process concludes.
Despite this, England players did not ask Dharmasena if Sai Sudharsan had hit the ball, as it would have been against the regulations. Dharmasena shook his head as the England players appealed, but also gestured with his fingers to indicate an inside edge.
This rule exists to maintain impartiality in the decision-making process and avoid influencing player behavior or decisions to review. However, Dharmasena's signal has caused controversy among fans, with commenters questioning whether umpires are allowed to give such signals to players before they decide to take a review.
It is not completely unknown for umpires to convey why they decided to give a decision as not out to the players on the field. However, it can be controversial when DRS is available, as umpires letting players know that they believe there to be an inside edge on the ball could potentially cause them not to take a review.
Replays later confirmed that Sai Sudharsan had indeed got an inside-edge on the ball, adding fuel to the debate surrounding Dharmasena's signal. The incident could further stoke the perceived imbalance in the series, with the Indian team and management feeling that England have received advantages, such as choice of ball and pitch inspection.
The laws and playing conditions thus emphasize the umpire’s neutral role in communication during DRS discussions and decisions. Umpires rely on technology and must allow the review process to complete without offering perceptual signals or reasons on-field during the appeal phase. Only after the DRS final decision is communicated do umpires indicate the outcome clearly to players and spectators. This preserves the integrity of the review and reduces confusion or premature assumptions about decisions.
Sports enthusiasts debated whether umpire Kumar Dharmasena was allowed to give an inside edge signal to the England team during the ongoing Test match at The Oval, as it could potentially influence player behavior or decisions to review. However, the laws and playing conditions emphasize the umpire’s neutral role in communication during DRS discussions and decisions, indicating that umpires rely on technology and must allow the review process to complete without offering perceptual signals or reasons on-field during the appeal phase.