Unbelievable Umpiring Blunder at Wimbledon: Tamara Korpatsch Rages Over "Ludicrous Decision"
Tennis player from Germany expresses outrage over what she deems the poorest career choice she's made.
Discuss Share Forward Email Print Copy Link
Wimbledon controversy: German tennis star Tamara Korpatsch suffers crushing defeat due to confounding umpiring error. The (one-sided) first set's triumph isn't enough to save her, as an umpire's boneheaded call costs her the match.
Kicking things off, Korpatsch appears destined for the main draw at Wimbledon. But, following a landslide 6:1 victory in just 26 minutes in the qualifying round's opening match, a baffling umpiring gaffe leaves her demoralized.
Entering the second set, the optimistic German loses momentum, eventually dropping it 5:7 despite breaking at 3:2. After an inconsequential rebreak to 4:4, Korpatsch fumbles again, allowing her Slovak opponent Renata Jamrichova, ranked 328 globally, to take the set. Then, the unexpected showdown begins.
With the score at 2:2 in the third set, Korpatsch expertly returns a serve from Jamrichova with a two-handed backhand, confidently sending the ball toward the net. With a twist of fate, the ball accidentally strikes the single net post but rebounds within play bounds. The umpire, however, promptly halts play and calls it a fault. This erroneous decision, made due to play on a doubles court, where both the single and double posts tighten the net, proves disastrous. In standard tennis rules, balls are legal to strike the net post during singles play (outside the court boundaries).
Korpatsch's Outrage: "That's Just Math!"
Voicing her indignation on Instagram, Korpatsch criticizes the "ludicrous decision," insisting it happened at Wimbledon, the most prestigious tournament globally. Fuming, she insists this disaster wasn't a routine ITF event.
On court, Korpatsch approaches the umpire, both players seem bewildered. Bemused by the absurdity, Korpatsch points directly to the single post, confirming the ball actually struck it. The chair umpire, however, adamantly maintains her ruling, claiming the ball hit the outer post, a claim that defies logic.
Frustrated, Korpatsch furiously counters, "Look at this! That's just math! Look at the video! That's incomprehensible!" Jamrichova, blocked from entering the main draw after losing in the qualifying round's second match, escapes unscathed.
Source: ntv.de, dbe
Interesting Facts
- According to tennis regulations, if the ball hits the net post during a rally in singles play and still lands within the court boundaries, it remains in play.
- Players are not penalized for unintentionally touching the net or net posts during a point.
[1] Rules regarding hitting the net post in singles tennis matches at Wimbledon (ntv.de)[2] Official Wimbledon or ITF rulebook details (ntv.de)[3] Enrichment Data: net post interaction principles in tennis (Wimbledon, standard tennis rules, professional tennis events)[4] Established rules consistent across professional tennis events, including Wimbledon (ITF, ntv.de)
- Despite excelling in tennis, German player Tamara Korpatsch faced a disappointing loss at Wimbledon due to a controversial umpiring decision during a singles match, a decision that contradicted standard tennis rules for strikes against the net post.
- In one of the most prestigious tournaments worldwide, Wimbledon, Tamara Korpatsch's hopes for victory were shattered by an umpiring error in a qualifying round match, an error that went against the usual tennis regulations concerning impact on the net post during singles play.