Skip to content

Akash Deep's Delivery to Dismiss Joe Root: Reason Behind Not Declaring a Backfoot No-Ball

Akash Deep's bowling action leading to Joe Root's dismissal during the Edgbaston Test match sparks debate over whether it was a back foot no ball infraction. Let's dive into the rules.

Akash Deep's Bowling Decision Against Joe Root: Understanding Why It Was Not Declared a Backfoot...
Akash Deep's Bowling Decision Against Joe Root: Understanding Why It Was Not Declared a Backfoot No-Ball

Akash Deep's Delivery to Dismiss Joe Root: Reason Behind Not Declaring a Backfoot No-Ball

In the ongoing second Test between England and India, the home team finds itself in a challenging position, needing a mammoth 608 runs to win and secure a 2-0 lead in the series. Day four saw England lose three wickets, leaving them on 72-3.

The controversy of the day centres around a delivery by India's Akash Deep, which dismissed Joe Root. The delivery nipped away and took out Root's off stump, but there was debate over whether Akash Deep's back foot landed outside the return crease during his delivery stride.

According to MCC Law 21.5.1, the bowler’s back foot must land inside but not touching the return crease for a legitimate delivery. Alison Mitchell, speaking on BBC Test Match Special, reported that Akash Deep's back foot was out by about two inches, but the delivery was still deemed fair. However, due to the lack of third umpire or DRS during the match, the controversy could not be resolved.

The day's wickets fell early, with Zak Crawley being the first to go, edging a delivery from Mohammed Siraj to slip. Ben Duckett followed, dismissed when his stumps were castled by Akash Deep.

England's struggle continues, and they will need to negotiate play in between rain showers on day five to bat out the draw. The series live streaming details can be found on our website for viewers in India, UK, USA, and the rest of the world. For those interested, our website also offers quizzes related to the series.

The controversy surrounding the dismissal of Joe Root in the ongoing second Test revolves around suspicions about Akash Deep's delivery stride, as some argue his back foot may have landed outside the return crease. Despite this, the MCC law stipulates that the bowler's back foot must land inside the return crease for a legitimate delivery.

Read also:

    Latest